1989 BASF Chrome Extra II 60 Audio Cassette

1989 BASF Chrome Extra II 60

This was one of my Mom’s tapes. It’s full both sides with classical piano music (Ravel), and I don’t want to tape over anything she recorded, so I can’t judge the cassette by the same criteria I judge my own. It’s a 60 minute BASF Chrome Extra II from 1989, recorded with Dolby B Type. There’s nothing to mask tape hiss in the quiet passages, so even with Dolby there’s some noticeable noise. I’m also unaware of what equipment my Mom used to record the tape, and it’s difficult under those circumstances to tell precisely what the reproduction is like. In the louder passages where the piano sound gets brighter, you do start to hear the characteristic BASF top end, but in other respects I’m not convinced this is one of the best BASF CrO2 tapes there ever was. I think classical music, with its massive dynamic range, is one genre which in analogue-only days was desperately crying out for the arrival of digital media, and I now find it quite hard to listen to on audio tape.

